IQSA 2016

11 - 15 July - Leicester (United Kingdom), University of Leicester, UK

University of Leicester logo


The International Quantum Structure Association is pleased to announce that the next Biennial IQSA Conference Quantum Structures 2016 will take place at the University of Leicester (United Kingdom), on July 11-15, 2016.

The proposed arrival date is Sunday, July 10, and the date of departure is Saturday, July 16.


  • The photos taken by Lisa Brant at the conference are available on the photos page.
  • Instructions for authors regarding the proceedings are available on the proceedings page.
  • A full programme is available as PDF here: Conference Programme (Last updated July 4th).
  • The "Birkhoff-von Neumann Prize 2016" has been awarded to Dr. Markus Mueller (Departments of Applied Mathematics and Philosophy, Western University) and Dr. Paolo Perinotti (Department of Physics, University of Pavia). The Award Ceremony of the "Birkhoff-von Neumann Prize 2016" will take place in the morning session of Thursday 14 July.
  • The registration deadlines have been updated. The deadline to register for the "early-bird" fee is now the 12th of June


'Quantum Structures 2016 Leicester' is a major international conference integrating all fields of quantum mechanics and its applications. It provides an important opportunity for researchers to disseminate their results and to obtain feedback both from their peers and from senior members of the community. Owing to its interdisciplinary and foundational character, the objective of the conference is to encourage communication between researchers throughout the world whose research is related to:

  • quantum structures and their applications in physics, mathematics and philosophy
  • logico-algebraic structures, orthomodular structures, quantum logics, empirical logics, operational structures
  • quantum mechanics
  • quantum measurements
  • quantum computation, quantum information, quantum communication
  • philosophy and history of quantum mechanics
  • quantum probability
  • interdisciplinary applications of quantum structures
  • algebraic methods of quantum mechanics
  • foundations of quantum mechanics
  • interdisciplinary applications of quantum structures


  • March 31, 2016 - deadline for submitting abstracts of contributed lectures;
  • April 20, 2016 - notifications sent to the authors of accepted presentations
  • June 12, 2016 - deadline to register and pay the reduced, "Early Bird" conference fee of £300.
  • June 13, 2016 - late registration fee of £330 applies from this date.
  • June 24, 2016 - closing date for registration.
  • Arriving day: July 10, 2016
  • First official day: July 11, 2016
  • Last official day: July 15, 2016
  • Leaving day: July 16, 2016

Keynote Speakers

  • Emmanuel Pothos (City University London, United Kingdom)
  • Philippe Grangier (Institut d’Optique, CNRS, France)
  • Aleks Kissinger (Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands)
  • Matthew Pusey (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Canada)

Previous Editions

The conference continues the successful meetings held in:

  • Gdansk 1990
  • Castiglioncello 1992
  • Prague 1994
  • Berlin 1996
  • Liptovsky Jan 1998
  • Cesenatico 2001
  • Vienna 2002
  • Denver 2004
  • Malta 2006
  • Brussels-Gdansk 2008
  • Boston 2010
  • Cagliari 2012
  • Olomouc 2014